Friday, June 19, 2009

Floridian Dr. Lonnie Smith Awarded Jazz Journalist "Organist of the Year" Recognition

#JazzBluesFlorida #jazz #blues #Florida #Concerts #Festivals #Clubs

Winners, 2009 Jazz Awards

Lifetime Achievement in Jazz
Lee Konitz

Musician of the Year
Sonny Rollins

Composer of the Year
Maria Schneider

Up & Coming Artist of the Year
Esperanza Spalding

Events Producer of the Year
George Wein
New Festival Productions

Record of the Year
Appearing Nightly
Carla Bley Big Band

Latin Jazz Album of the Year
Song for Chico
Arturo O'Farrill

Historical Recording/Reissue of the Year
Road Shows, Vol. 1
Sonny Rollins

Historical Recording Boxed Set
The Lester Young/Count Basie Sessions 1936-40

Record Label of the Year

Female Singer of the Year
Cassandra Wilson

Male Singer of the Year
Kurt Elling

Instruments Rare in Jazz
Richard Galliano, accordion

Large Ensemble of the Year
Maria Schneider Orchestra

Arranger of the Year
Maria Schneider

Small Ensemble Group of the Year
SF Jazz Collective

Trumpeter of the Year
Terence Blanchard

Trombonist of the Year
Roswell Rudd

Tenor Saxophonist of the Year
Sonny Rollins

Alto Saxophonist of the Year
Rudresh Mahanthappa

Flutist of the Year
Frank Wess

Baritone Saxophonist of the Year
Gary Smulyan

Soprano Saxophonist of the Year
Branford Marsalis

Clarinetist of the Year
Anat Cohen

Guitarist of the Year
Bill Frisell

Pianist of the Year
Hank Jones

Organist of the Year
Dr. Lonnie Smith

Strings Player of the Year
Billy Bang

Bassist of the Year
William Parker

Electric Bassist of the Year
Steve Swallow

Mallet Instrumentalist of the Year
Joe Locke

Percussionist of the Year
Hamid Drake

Drummer of the Year
Brian Blade

Periodical of the year
Jazz Times

Website of the Year

Blog of the Year
Jazz Beyond Jazz
By Howard Mandel

Best Book about Jazz
A Power Stronger Than Itself: The AACM and American Experimental Music
By George Lewis
(University of Chicago Press),

Best Photo of the Year
Hank Jones, Montreal Jazz Festival 2008
By Kris King

The Lona Foote–Bob Parent Award
for Photography
John Abbott

The Willis Conover–Marian McPartland Award
for Broadcasting
Ben Young, Director, WKCR
(Columbia University)

The Helen Dance–Robert Palmer Award
for Review and Feature Writing
Nate Chinen

Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism
Mike Zwerin

The Jazz Foundation of America
and the
Jazz Journalists Association
Special Career Honors
for Words with Music

Mark Murphy

A Team Awards for:

Herb Alpert
Musician, Producer, Jazz Supporter

Dr. Agnes Varis
Jazz Angel

Bruce Lundvall
Record Man

David N. Baker
Jazz Educator

Timuel Black
Cultural Historian

Steven Saltzman
Chicago Jazz Advocate

Ruth Price
The Jazz Bakery

Clarence Acox
Garfield High School
Jazz Band Leader

Scott Brown
Roosevelt High School
Jazz Band Leader

Peter Levinson
Author and Publicist

Richard Sudhalter
Author, Journalist, Musician


Posted by:
Jazz & Blues Florida

No comments :

Post a Comment