Sunday, February 6, 2011

Winners of 27th Annual International Blues Challenge in Memphis Announced by Blues Foundation

#JazzBluesFlorida #jazz #blues #Florida #Concerts #Festivals #Clubs

 The Blues Foundation presented the 27th International Blues Challenge February 1-5, 2011 in Memphis, TN. The 2011 International Blues Challenge was the 27th year of blues musicians from around the globe competing for cash, prizes, and industry recognition as the best unsigned blues bands and artists in the world.

All of the 220 bands that competed in Memphis were already winners of their local competitions, held in 26 countries by blues societies associated with the Blues Foundation.

The winners of the band competition for 27th IBC are:
1st Place: The Lionel Young Band - Colorado Blues Society
2nd Place: The Mary Bridget Davies Group - Kansas City Blues Society
3rd Place: Rob Blaine's Big Otis Blues - Windy City Blues Society

The Solo/Duo winners are:
1st Place: George Schroeter & Marc Breitfelder - Baltic Blues
2nd Place: "Sweet Taste" Kennedy - Canal Bank Shuffle

Best Harmonica Player was awarded to Stephane Bertolino from the French band AWEK, representing Blues Sur Seine.

The Best Guitarist Award was given to Rob Blaine of Rob Blaine’s Big Otis Blues.

The Best Self-Produced CD recognition was garnered by ‘Get Inside This House’ by Joe McMurrian of the Cascade Blues Association in Portland, OR.

Full story link:

No comments :

Post a Comment