Thursday, February 17, 2011


 #JazzBluesFlorida #jazz #blues #Florida #Concerts #Festivals #Clubs

The Blues Foundation has announced the 2011 inductees for the Blues Hall of Fame, including soulful singer/songwriter/guitarist Robert Cray, whose immense popularity helped jump start a contemporary blues scene; one of the world's premier acoustic blues artists, singer, guitarist, and harpist John Hammond; singer/songwriter Denise LaSalle, who, since her first hit, "Trapped By A Thing Called Love" in 1971, has reigned as the Queen of Soul Blues; Big Maybelle, whose big voice made her one of the most important R&B vocalists of the 1950s; singer/songwriter, Alberta Hunter, the definition of class, a performer whose career spanned eight decades of blues and jazz; and singer/songwriter J.B. Lenoir whose iconic song "Mama Talk To Your Daughter" is still relevant today.

Among the other individuals being recognized by The Blues Foundation this year are Vivian Carter and Jimmy Bracken, who were the "Vee" and "Jay" in Vee-Jay Records, at one time the largest black-owned record company in the world; noted African American educator, John W. Work, III whose ground-breaking work in the blues was not appreciated until long after his death; Samuel Charters, who led much of the 1960s blues revival in America through his writings and field recordings; and Bruce Bromberg, whohas produced over 150 recordings for artists like Robert Cray, Joe Louis Walker, and Phillip Walker in addition to the Testament reissues.

The book Walking to New Orleans: The Story of New Orleans Rhythm & Blues by John Broven will also be inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame.

The following singles or album tracks will be inducted during the ceremony: "Ain't Nobody's Business" (Supreme, 1947) by Jimmy Witherspoon; "Five Long Years" (J.O.B., 1952) by Eddie Boyd; "Hard Time Killin' Floor Blues" (Paramount, 1931) by Skip James; and "Love in Vain" (Vocalion, 1937) by Robert Johnson. These albums are also being honored: Night Beat by Sam Cooke, False Accusations by Robert Cray, and The Real Folk Blues by Howlin' Wolf.   

The induction ceremony will be held Wednesday, May 4, at the Memphis Marriott Downtown in Memphis, Tennessee, the night before the 32nd Blues Music Awards. Plans are underway now to individually honor each of the inductees that night.  

The Blues Hall of Fame committee, consisting of scholars, record producers, radio programmers, and historians, is chaired by Jim O'Neal, founding editor of Living Blues.

On May 5, the night after the Blues Hall of Fame inductions, The Blues Foundation will present the Blues Music Awards for the 32nd time. Performers, industry representatives, and fans from around the world will celebrate the best in Blues recording, songwriting and performance from the previous year at the Memphis Cook Convention Center in downtown Memphis. The evening will see performances by 2011 inductees/BMA nominees John Hammond and Denise LaSalle, among many other nominees.   

No comments :

Post a Comment