Tuesday, March 1, 2011

White House Announces 2010 National Medal of Arts Recipients - Jazz Represented

#JazzBluesFlorida #jazz #blues #Florida #Concerts #Festivals #Clubs

White House Announces 2010 National Medal of Arts Recipients
Presidential initiative is managed by the National Endowment for the Arts
Washington, D.C. — Tomorrow, President Barack Obama will present the National Medal of Arts to eight recipients for their outstanding achievements and support of the arts. (Ten medalists were announced; however two are not able to attend the ceremony. Their medals will be presented at another time.) The medals will be presented by the president in the East Room ceremony at the White House. Mrs. Michelle Obama will also be in attendance. The National Medal of Arts is a White House initiative managed by the National Endowment for the Arts. Each year, the NEA organizes and oversees the National Medal of Arts nomination process and notifies the artists of their selection to receive a medal, the nation’s highest honor for artistic excellence.
“The National Medal of Arts recipients represent the many vibrant and diverse art forms thriving in America,” said NEA Chairman Rocco Landesman. “From criticism to literature, music, poetry, sculpture, and theater, these honorees’ devotion to shaping and sharing American art is unrivaled, and I join the President and the country in saluting them.”
The 2010 National Medal of Arts Recipients are:

Individuals                                                                                                                 Place of Birth
Robert Brustein, Theatrical Critic, Producer, Playwright, and Educator    New York, New York
Van Cliburn, Pianist and Music Educator                                                                Shreveport, Louisiana
Mark di Suvero, Sculptor                                                                                          Shanghai, China
Donald Hall, Poet                                                                                                      New Haven, Connecticut
Quincy Jones, Musician and Music Producer                                                           Chicago, Illinois
*Harper Lee, Author                                                                                     Monroeville, Alabama
Sonny Rollins, Jazz Musician                                                                                    Harlem, New York
*Meryl Streep, Actress                                                                                              Summit, New Jersey
James Taylor, Singer and Songwriter                                                                       Boston, Massachusetts

Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival, Becket, Massachusetts

*Not able to attend
The National Medal of Arts, established by Congress in 1984, is awarded by the President and managed by the National Endowment for the Arts. Award recipients are selected based on their contributions to the creation, growth, and support of the arts in the United States. Each year, the Arts Endowment seeks nominations from individuals and organizations across the country. The National Council on the Arts, the Arts Endowment's presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed advisory body, reviews the nominations and provides recommendations to the President, who selects the recipients.
The National Endowment for the Arts gratefully acknowledges The President’s Committee on the Arts and the Humanities for its support of the 2010 National Medal of Arts.
Please see additional information on the National Medal of Arts on the NEA website.
The National Endowment for the Arts was established by Congress in 1965 as an independent agency of the federal government. To date, the NEA has awarded more than $4 billion to support artistic excellence, creativity, and innovation for the benefit of individuals and communities. The NEA extends its work through partnerships with state arts agencies, local leaders, other federal agencies, and the philanthropic sector. To join the discussion on how art works, visit the NEA at http://www.arts.gov/.

No comments :

Post a Comment